“Normal”

Personally, I don’t think there’s such thing as “normal” there’s just average. Most of the things we consider normal are just what we’re used to, but it’s not necessarily “normal”. Normal is whatever is normal to you. So, in a way we’re all normal. We may not be that for other people, but we are normal to ourselves.

Maybe I think like this because I’ve never liked the way some people treat the people who aren’t “normal”. If you are, for example, smarter or not as smart as the average person, people might tease you or treat you differently. I’ve seen this happening, and I don’t like it. Other things that makes people not “normal” to others is being, gay, lesbian or bisexual. Who you love shouldn’t make you abnormal. It’s not right. So it’s not “normal” to be straight, it’s what we’re used to if we don’t know anyone who isn’t. If a person has  some kind of a disorder or decease that shows in their everyday life, that’s not “normal” to other people, but it’s normal to them. This is another thing that makes other people look down on you, or not wanna be your friend. I don’t see the point, we are all people.  So, “normal” means average. Who wants to be average?

My opinion on being “normal” may be a product of never being “normal”. I’m short, loud, don’t care what other people think of me most of the time. I’m almost ten years younger than both of my siblings. I prefer the company of animals to people. I don’t even have a “normal” group of friends. Although we all have something in common, we are all very different. Some of my friends are religious, some like to party, some don’t like sports and stuff like that. Even in my family, I’m not “normal” I don’t care about people’s race, religion, or sexual orientation, like sometimes you could hear my father talking about these kinda people like they’re not people or like they’re doing something wrong.  I try not to see past those things and see the person behind those trivial things. Not all of us have to be the same, that would be boring. My siblings like to live near our parents, I’d love to move abroad to study or after studying.

I think that everyone is normal in their own way. It’s normal for people to be different, think differently ,look different. It’s a richness. So why should we try to be “normal”? I at least wanna be something special, not “normal” or average.

Leave a Reply

