One Can Never Have Enough Socks

I know I said I would write fiction in my prompts but I came across this Dumbledore quote and could not pass it up. I agree with Dumbledore wholeheartedly.

As some of you may know, I live in Finland. Finland is a cold country. The winters here can be quite cold. Although I don’t get cold that easily, I love the excuse  to use wool socks. I have like dozens of them.

I start the use of wool socks in the autumn, when it gets so cold that I couldn’t wear my converse without the socks in them. My use continues all through winter and into spring.

They are so useful. I can use them in the evening when I’ve taken a shower and don’t want to put clean socks on but still don’t want my feet to get cold. But basically I wear them all the time. During the days on top of my normal socks and when it’s really cold outside in my shoes to keep my little bitty feet warm. And even at school, while sitting in class, I take off my shoes and put on my wool socks.

Since I study in a different city than my parents and go back there a couple times a year I have a stash at my place and at my parent’s place. This is one reason why I have so many. I also like to knit new ones so basically each year I make at least to new pairs for myself 🙂

So, unlike many other young people I am delighted at Christmas if I get a package that has new socks in it. And it’s not only because I love to get new wool socks but also because I know the effort and love you have to put in the knitting of those socks.

Leave a Reply

