I Know You’re Never Coming Back

Today I went to our tree, I sat there for the longest time and could almost feel you next to me. A couple times I could have sworn I heard your voice whisper in my ear, but every time I looked around, you were nowhere to be seen. Many people passed by, but they didn’t give me a second glance. I could still clearly see the heart we carved into the tree. I tried to get closer to you by climbing to sit on the branch we used to sit on.

On my way back home I walked by the graveyard, so I decided that I’d come and visit. You know, tell you how I’m doing. And to remind myself of the fact that you’re never coming back.

Because, I do know you’re never coming back, but I still can’t help but perk up every time my phone rings or the door opens, waiting for you to come through. I still watch all of our favorite shows and when I hear a good song all I wanna do is tell you about it. I miss my best friend. I wish I could believe that we will see each other again someday. But since I don’t believe in God or afterlife, I know I will never see you again.

I wish I could just get my heart to listen to my brain, because it hurts so bad.

Leave a Reply

