Pet Peeves

I’m now supposed to write about my top three pet peeves, so here it goes.

1.Being overly-friendly

I am a somewhat antisocial person, so I dislike people who seem overly friendly. Don’t get me wrong, I love people who are friendly, but there is such thing as too friendly in my book. One of my roommates is this kind of person, she always wants to talk to people and often when I come home and she’s home she comes to the door and asks “Did you have a long day?” or “How was your day?”. This would be okay to me on occasion, but not every fricking time I come home. It gets tiresome. Sometimes I just wish I was not raised to be a polite person so I could actually say to her “Well, it’s seven PM and I just got home, what do you think?” However, my parents raised a polite person so I have not so far said that. When somebody seems to try too hard to be friendly, I just don’t like it.

 

2. Not having any sort of awareness of other people and their boundaries.

Another trait I loathe. I am not the most aware person in the world, but even I can read people when they are in a bad mood or have had a bad day. I know to leave them alone then and not pester them. I am also aware of personal space and how some people have it and some people don’t. I have met several people who do not understand the concept of personal space. It is annoying. I also dislike the way some people do not take into account the people around them in their everyday life. For example, speaking overly loudly in an apartment that has thin walls in the morning when other people are sleeping.

3.People complaining about my loud voice

It’s not my fault that most people seem to think that I speak loudly. I know I speak loudly, however, I am not shouting, I just speak with a higher volume than most people. Nothing aggravates me more than when people tell me not to shout, because I do not shout. It’s not my fault that other people speak like teeny tiny mouses. If one politely asks me to speak more quietly, I will, but if one makes the mistake of telling me that I shout, I will not be so kind.

 

Leave a Reply

