5 Blessings

The first blessing in my life would have to be my family. They love me unconditionally and understand me. I can be just the way I am and they don’t care. They still love and support me. My parents are great, even though my dad worries too much. I have been blessed with two great siblings, a big brother and a big sister. While my sister and I may not have always seen eye-to-eye, I know that we love each other. Plus our relationship has gotten better as we’ve gotten older.  I also have the greatest niece in the world and soon will have a new niece or a nephew to dote on.

The second blessing would have to be my friends. I have the best friends I could ask for. They understand my nerdiness and love me for it. I have been blessed enough to find a few friends in my hometown, but I also have a great group of friends in the town I study in. My uni friends are more the nerdy sort that love Harry Potter, Doctor Who and any such things whereas my hometown friends are the sort that have known me more or less my whole life and therefore know me almost inside-out. I feel blessed to have these two groups and intend to keep them if it kills me. 🙂

The third blessing in my life is probably my ability to do handcrafts. It gives me an outlet for my feelings and also a way to keep myself calm and occupied. It is a blessing I have inherited from both of my grandmothers. It is a way for me to give something special to friends and family.

The fourth one is my health. I have been lucky enough to stay relatively healthy my whole life. Except for several ear infections when I was small, 5 and a half years of retainers, and not very severe allergies, I have been quite healthy. Not all people are so lucky, so I feel quite blessed for my health.

The fifth and last one would be my ability to read. Not all people in the world can read and even though I live in a society that every person can read in, I know it is a privilege. Reading gives me an opportunity to lose myself in another world and forget my worries and unwind. I could not imagine my life if I didn’t know how to read, so I am quite happy that I can.

Without these blessings my life would not be the same. Nor would I be the person I am now, so I can say that I am truly blessed.

Leave a Reply

